Home » Chamber Foundation » Now accepting Margaret Starkey Scholarship applications for non-traditional working students

Now accepting Margaret Starkey Scholarship applications for non-traditional working students

Do you have an outstanding employee who is also attending college or technical school? If so, the Howell Area Chamber of Commerce Foundation invites you to nominate that individual for the 2018 Margaret Starkey Scholarship. Margaret Starkey was Executive Assistant with the chamber for 31 years until her retirement in 1987. She passed away in 2002.

The Foundation will award a total of up to $15,000 in scholarships to worthy students who are nominated by their employers. Those selected will best exemplify Mrs. Starkey’s outstanding qualities of dedication, enthusiasm, community service and attention to detail. Mrs. Starkey also achieved success despite obstacles in her life.

The goal of the scholarship is to assist outstanding non-traditional students who are advancing their education while working. If you wish to honor such a student who works for you, please complete the following 2018 application and return it to the Howell Area Chamber of Commerce Foundation before May 15, 2018.

Application criteria and schedules are below. It is important to note that there is no age limitation on this scholarship.

We are pleased to give our community this opportunity to reward employees for outstanding service and to encourage educational advancement.





  • The nominee must have been employed with the nominating company since at least September 2017. The nominating company must be located within Livingston County.
  • There are no age limits on the Margaret Starkey Scholarship.
  • The nominee may be a college or technical school student.
  • If the nominee is a high school student, he or she must have plans to attend college or technical school in the fall of 2018 and continue to work for the nominating company.
  • The nominee must have a minimum 2.5 grade point average.
  • Nominees cannot be related to the business owner or managerial staff.
  • There is no limit to the number of nominees per business.



  • Applications must be received no later than May 15, 2018.
  • The committee will review all applications. Follow up telephone calls may be made to nominating businesses for further information.
  • Winners will be announced by June 15, 2018.

Leave a Reply