Home » News » Chamber news » Final election forum features candidates in 47th House district

Final election forum features candidates in 47th House district

FLAGS_american-flag (2)The Howell Area Chamber of Commerce is teamed up with Voters Voice, the Daily Press & Argus, the Greater Brighton Area Chamber of Commerce, the Hartland Area Chamber of Commerce and the Livingston County Association of School Boards to present three candidate forums in advance of the Tuesday, Nov. 4, general election.

“Candidates have very different views on key issues affecting both businesses and individuals,´ said Pat Convery, president of the Howell Area Chamber of Commerce. “We’re proud to once again be part of these elections forums that will allow voters to see and hear for themselves.”

All forums will begin promptly at 6:30 p.m.

The first one is set for Tuesday, Sept. 23, at the Hartland Educational Support Services Center at 9525 Highland Road.

This forum will feature the candidates for the 22nd District state Senate seat: Republican incumbent Joe Hune and Democratic challenge Shari Pollesch.

The second forum is set for Tuesday, Sept. 30,at the Brighton Center for the Performing Arts at Brighton High School, 7878 Brighton Road in Brighton. It will feature candidates for the 42nd District state House seat being vacated by state Rep. Bill Rogers, who is term-limited. The candidates are Democrat Timothy B. Johnson and Republican Lana Theis. Also set to appear are the two candidates in the nonpartisan judicial race in Livingston County District Court, incumbent Judge Theresa Brennan and challenger Dennis Brewer. The forum will include the candidates for the 8th Congressional District seat currently held by U.S. Rep. Mike Rogers, who is not seeking re-election. The candidates are Republican Mike Bishop and Democrat Eric Schertzing..

The final forum is scheduled for Tuesday, Oct. 7, at the Howell High School auditorium at 1200 W. Grand River Ave. in Howell. Featured will be the candidates for the 47th House district currently held by state Rep. Cindy Denby, who is term-limited: Democrat Jordan Jenso and Republican Hank Vaupel.

Leave a Reply